Conferencing + Events Feature — 18 March 2019

The Black Country Chamber Awards is opening to submissions on Thursday 7 March – and for the first time, the Awards are completely free to everyone to enter.

These esteemed awards are one of the most prestigious celebrations of business achievements in the region. In the six years since the new awards were established, more than 160 Black Country individuals and businesses have been recognised for their outstanding individual and business accomplishments.

Last year, innovative on-line retailer, Prima Make-Up of Stourbridge, scooped the overall award winner in a spectacular ceremony hosted by Mock the Week celebrity comedian, Milton Jones.

To be more inclusive, this year the awards are free to the wider business community as well as Chamber members to enter. Some of the award categories have also been altered to better reflect the region’s economy and its strengths.  The 14 categories in the 2019 Awards comprise:

  1. Community Champion
  2. Large Business of the Year
  3. Small Business of the Year
  4. Export Business of the Year
  5. Education & Business Partnership
  6. Customer Commitment Award
  7. Black Country Business Person of the Year
  8. Professional Services Award
  9. Excellence in Manufacturing and Engineering
  10. High-growth Business of the Year
  11. Family Business of the Year
  12. Start-Up Business of the Year Award
  13. Young Person or Apprentice of the Year
  14. Overall Business of the Year (chosen by the judges – not open to entries)

Corin Crane, chief executive of the Black Country Chamber said, “We’re delighted to once again declare the awards open for business. This year we’ve made a few operational improvements including making it free to everyone to enter and revising some of the categories, so that the awards stay relevant and attractive to the business community. The Chamber is keen to make sure it is representative and supportive not only of its members, but all businesses in the Black Country.

“I would like to wish everyone the best of luck and look forward to seeing all the submissions.”

Entries must be submitted by 5pm on 28 June. The finalists will be announced in September and the winners revealed at the gala celebration evening taking place on 15 November.

More information about what the judges will be looking for is available on website on the website

Sponsorship options are also available and anyone interested should contact Sarah Johnson on 01902 912 304; or visit



About Author


(0) Readers Comments

Comments are closed.